Cleveland’s Green Corp


The Cleveland Botanical Garden started its illustrious Green Corp program back in 1996 to leverage two of Cleveland’s most valuable and underutilized resources: vacant land and teenagers.  By starting and maintaining productive gardens in inner city neighborhoods, the Green Corp program is not only creating green public space that helps to beautify urban areas, but is also employing and empowering inner city kids.

Through the Green Corp program, teenagers learn how to construct and maintain productive gardens (which are basically small urban farms), and then sell the produce that they rear from the earth.  They learn gardening and business skills, in addition to the benefits of hard work, leadership, and teamwork.  They can then take what they learn in the Green Corp back home to their families and friends.

On August 21st, Mayor Jackson visited the Green Corp’s 5th urban garden in Fairfax to celebrate the program’s success and the work of the teenagers that make it all happen.

The speakers in the video include Rob (a Green Corp participant), Mamie Mitchell (Cleveland councilwoman), Mayor Frank Jackson, and Ruth Eppig (president of the Board at the Cleveland Botanical Garden).

To learn more about the Green Corp program in Cleveland, click here.


Note: So, although seemingly simplistic, this video has been a terror to make.  I edited a beautiful video of this on iMovie, with a soundtrack and everything, but for some reason, when I loaded it to YouTube, only the audio would transfer over.  So, I have resorted to this video that I edited on FlipShare (which does not have many editing options, unfortunately).  I will continue troubleshooting with the more finished iMovie version and I’ll post that as soon as I can.

5 thoughts on “Cleveland’s Green Corp

    • Hi Sara,
      Thank you so much for reading and for letting me know Mamie’s name (I spent an entire week trying to figure it out, without results). You are awesome.

      I hope you continue to read and let me know what you think!

      Best wishes,
      Marianne

  1. Hello Marianne,

    I just found your blog and I want to tell you that I think it’s great….not to mention the catchy title!

    Transitioning a traditional manufacturing region such as Cleveland (and Detroit where I live and run my blog for the preservation and transformation of the U.S. tooling/manufacturing industry) into a new era of supply alternative energy components is beginning to take form.

    Whether it’s solar, wind, geothermal or even hydropower it’s exciting yet a little overwhelming for many. That’s why sites & blogs such as yours are terrific resources.

    Since we both cover some relevant content I’m offering a link to your blog from mine (www.toolanddieing.com) for a link to mine from yours.

    For SEO sake, let me know if you want me to use any specific anchor text/hyperlink for your url…if you agree.

    Best Regards,
    Joe Brown

  2. Pingback: “Hope, Seeds and Concrete” « Renovating the Rust Belt

  3. Pingback: The Full (Green) Cleveland « Renovating the Rust Belt

Leave a Reply

